Auckland Region

Guide image

Kawau Island, photo credit:

The greater Auckland region is surrounded by coastline, beaches and the many islands and harbours of the Hauraki Gulf. With more than twenty regional parks, five marine reserves and numerous satellite villages and neighbourhoods, each with their own character and flavour - you will never run out of places to discover and explore.

Back in November of 2010, Auckland City was amalgamated with other councils to form the new Auckland “Super” City which encompasses Auckland, Manukau, Waitakere and North Shore cities, as well as Rodney District (from the the bottom of Kaipara Harbour in the north) and Franklin District (from the Hunua Ranges on the Firth of Thames to Port Waikato on the west coast).

The Auckland isthmus has been home to Māori since around 1350A.D. According to Māori legend, a great battle between the Hunua and Waitakere Ranges caused the gods of volcanoes and earthquakes to create Auckland’s landscape. For Māori, the harbours provided good fishing and the volcanic cones were well-suited for food-crops and defence.

These days, Aucklanders know they are on to a good thing too, and are keen to make good use of and protect their natural playground. Beyond the city - whichever direction you head - top of your ‘to do’ list should be a visit to one of the district’s regional parks and marine reserves. Take a picnic, and enjoy the beautiful views, bushwalks, bike trails, beaches and wildlife.

Baches have been a much-treasured tradition on the beaches and on the islands of the Hauraki Gulf for many decades, built back when they were still remote locations. Today holiday spots such as Orewa, Maraetai and Muriwai still retain the relaxed beach culture of their past, but are now part of the larger urban metropolis, with many permanent residents commuting to and fro.

More info

Subscribe to Travel Ideas


Piwa perched